• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

FDC Servers

xzx

b&
b&
AMD XP 2000
512MB RAM
80GB HDD 7200 IBM
FREE IPs (ARIN rules)
Un- capped 100Mbit port
UN-METERED BANDWIDTH

for 99 monthly and 199 setup.

Is this good? Just how fast our their servers?
I am wanting to sign up for a long time, i just want some opinions on how fast they are. Are they better than rackshack? FDC is cheaper, and unmetered bandwidth, i am just wondering if it takes too much resources. I will have a few forums, 4-5, vbb or phpbb, and with maybe 30 users on at a time. The server specs seem good, amd xp 2000+ runs at 1.56 ghz i believe, which is good. Any comments?

Re: Re: FDC Servers

Originally posted by Daniel

1.7ghz
1.67 actually.

Now regarding FDCServers, I have no experience with them personally, but check at WHT as Gayo suggested. I've seen both good and bad posted about them.

I personally wouldn't sign up at the moment, i would wait until the new Yipes link comes up (if it ever does that is).

Thanks for all of your comments, but there is one thing i mistated.

I am not concerned about the speed of the hardware. AMD XP 2000+ is great.

I am concerned about the shared 100 mbps line they have it on. I am wondering if this is a common thing to do, and if other places like rackshack do it.

And what is the best control panel for free? I have heard of Cpanel ($1400), Plesk ($800) and Ensim ($200), but i am wondering about what is free? FDC says that they can install webmin for free, but it doesn't look too promising. Any suggestions?

I've heard the FDC can be quite slow at times, and pretty good at other times.

Sharing a 100Mbps port between several servers is a common thing to do, but each server usually has a set limit to how much bandwidth it can use.