• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

What specs for a VPS do I need?

Ruriko

I'm new to VPS and I was wondering what specs do I need for a site that has 10k+ unique daily traffic? it runs on Wordpress and right now it's a resource hog to the mysql server cause of high traffic

We need more info than that. What current usage do you have? CPU/RAM? Highest concurrrent mySQL/Apache requests?

We need more info than that. What current usage do you have? CPU/RAM? Highest concurrrent mySQL/Apache requests?

I'm currently on a shared host so I can't really check how much CPU or ram usage. I do know that I get about 100+ users actively browsing my site

Ask your host to see if they'll tell you. Most will let you know so you know how to scale for an upgrade.

Good Morning,

Don't forget the amount of plugins you have will also determine this number as well. Also I am assuming your running WPCache at least correct?

Thanks,
Anthony

10k unique? Just from that I can tell shared hosting won't work for you.
Concurrent connections is probably more useful than knowing unique hits, but I'd say you'd need a decent VPS with 512-1000 mb of RAM.
Though, how does your shared hosting provider still let you host with them if you're getting so much traffic?

More concurrent users need additional RAM and good speed disk if your budget is more try a dedi for this site, if not check with a good service provider with at least 1 GB RAM and 50 GB disk space hosted at high speed disk