• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

what do you use

andy_jacko

After looking at the boards I have seen a lot of conflicting info about what design tools to use (php, cgi, dreamweaver, flash etc, etc.).
I am fairly new to web design and would like to do it as a job, what I would like to know is what do you recommend I learn with regards to software, programming languages etc. and where are your favorite tutorials relating to the things you recommend.

cheerz andy :)

I use Notepad, and a combination of Macromedia Flash, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Go Live, and Adobe LiveMotion for graphics and animations.

I use php. I don't really care much for perl.

I use Corel Webmaster Suite and Namo Webeditor (namo.com). Additionally I use Corel Photopaint 4.0, Paint Shop Pro and Adobe Photoshop.

Forgot to add:

Photoshop 5.5/ImageReady 2.0, puTTY to connect to a remote server via SSH1 port 22, and the software on the server.

Photoshop 6, Dreamweaver 4, Front Page 2002, Flash 5, Fireworks 4 and some other ...

Originally posted by andy_jacko
After looking at the boards I have seen a lot of conflicting info about what design tools to use (php, cgi, dreamweaver, flash etc, etc.).
I am fairly new to web design and would like to do it as a job, what I would like to know is what do you recommend I learn with regards to software, programming languages etc. and where are your favorite tutorials relating to the things you recommend.

cheerz andy :)

my reccomendations would be to learn html first, then learn how to use dreamweaver and a photoediting software. after that maybe some flash.

as far as tutorials go, there are manymany out there. just do a search at google.com and you will probably have enough to keep you busy.