• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

SSI or an alternative

andy_jacko

I am fairly new to Web design(I can produce pages in dreamweaver and noptepad). As part of a college project we are required to design a website with a Flash Navbar which is to remain static. The best way to do this I thought would be with Frames, but whilst talking with a friend he suggested that an alternative would be to use SSI. The problem is I don't know how.
Is ssi the best option, what would you suggest.

coluld you tell me roughly how to do SSI or the location of a tutorial.

Any help would be appreciated.

p.s. I hope this is the right forum for this post

PHP is a lot better than SSI, you can use variables to determine the includes. :D

<?php include "path/to/file/to.include"; ?>

The next best thing about using PHP for includes is if the file doesn't exist, you can even print a 404 message! :D

PHP is a lot better than SSI, you can use variables to determine the includes.
Just a quick note, you can with SSI too. It's not as easy, but still perfectly possible.

Originally posted by Dusty
Just a quick note, you can with SSI too. It's not as easy, but still perfectly possible.
Using SSI with PHP/Perl/Python/Whatever? Not very practical... :p

Using SSI with PHP/Perl/Python/Whatever? Not very practical...
You can do it with just straight SSI :p. It just takes two SSI calls, one to get the query string and one to include the page (maybe a third if you've got more than one variable in the query string and you need to manipulate it).

Well, you can just use php's include and make it a lot easier for yourself. :rolleyes: