• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

RackShack

i want to get a rackshack server are they easy to use,
like do you need to know stuff to use it? cause I am a newbie on servers, i won't know how to install mysql, perl or php, do they have all that set up for you?

Last edited:
Originally posted by Johnny
do they have all that set up for you?
No, and they're not going to help you install it for you either. They supply the hardware and nothing more.

If you're a real n00b, get a managed box.

i want to get a rackshack server are they easy to use,
like do you need to know stuff to use it? cause I am a newbie on servers, i won't know how to install mysql, perl or php, do they have all that set up for you?

If you don't know what your doing, its not a good idea. RS will not hold your hand and guide you through anything. Get a few books on Linux command administration and when you feel comfy get it going. Maybe even install redhat on a local box there to help get a feel. Otherwise, nocster.com provide managed servers for cheap, tho they have been having a few network issues lately.

Well at rackshack it is pretty easy to manage. I mean if you don' t use your own nameservers just using there's you just gota be able to use a control panel.... Its pretty easy... Mind you when problems arise you will need to know how to fix them yourself RS have a tendincy to just say Restore the box meaning you lose the data.

Its not realy that hard but your better just setting up a small box at home and seeing how it goes. Learn some telnet commands and learn a little about linux and you should be ok.