• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

i need linux!

ozefrog

i need a small linux distribution that can run:
- MySQL 3.23.58
- Apache 1.3.28
- PHP 4.3.3
- Has support for SMP (2 proccessors)
i will need this for developing. I have no need for an xserver or anything like that, just the command line.

i have tried the following distros:
- Slackware 4.0 (Tiny Linux)
- Slackware 8.0
- Slackware 8.1 (VectorLinux 3.2)
- SuSE Linux 6.1
- SuSE Linux 6.3
- Redhat Linux 7.0
- Redhat Linux 8.1 (Peanut Linux)

and none of these fill my needs..they are either too outdated for the software i want to run, or do not support SMP without compling a new kernel.

i am a newbie to linux and i only no how to compile the basics...i have been using linux on and off for ova a yr now. when trying to update componants on older linux systems i get stuck in the same paradox where to update one thing u hav to update another and so on...its really confusing me...

my hardware is limited to:
- Dual Proccessor (2x100mhz)
- 32MB of Ram
- 810mb harddrive

i dnt want to use Windows, been there, done that. and i dnt want to b downloading a distro ova 250mb (im on dialup).

is there any infomation for new users like me to build their own custom system with step by step instructions or something? or linux distro that wil fit my needs nicely?

thanks

Last edited:
FreeBSD supports more than 1 processor.. of course you'll need to install apache, php, mysql on your own. FreeBSD also has xserver, but by default is not installed. Now FreeBSD isn't linux, it's BSD.. but a popular OS among servers.

yeah, just use Free BSD. it has few of hardware dependencies. its filesystem is similar to linux. i've used it years and it's so powerful.