• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Hostabuck??

mikemac007

Anyone use hostabuck.com? I'm a college student, and really don't feel like paying even $8 or so a month for space. I have a domain already and a site. I am currently with web1000.com and there ftp seems to be mostly down then up, getting on my nerves already. Anyone think hostabuck would be reliable? Or better yet anyone use them for one of their plans and think they are decent? Thanks.

Very minimal features... Its mostly a 'community' type site, with a homepage and forums being the most important part of it. I got the forums from ezboard. So really just reliable FTP and say 10mb+ space, if i can drive enough traffic to it and the forum grows perhaps I'll need more features, as of now mostly simple.

point taken, as this topic remains in the wrong forum, any other suggestions for dirt cheap hosting should the need arise? I'm talking less then $5 a month.

If you knew it was in the wrong forum, why did you post it there? Also if you had wanted it moved, the "report this post" link would have been a quicker solution than waiting for someone to find it. Moved.

Sorry Jan, I'm new to this board, being that I don't think I have posted in any of the other forums I lazily posted it in the freewebsace forums, my bad. Marsha Marsha Marsha!

(Even more funny, they don't even own an SSL certificate, using the certificate that the server generates)

Ever stop to think how expenisve they can be when you have to buy them for several servers?

It only makes sense to use a self sign cert for the admin panel as it is just as secure as any cert you want to buy and can save you a few hundred bucks.