• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Upgrade...

Cyber

[...]
NLC
I really need to upgrade my computer, it's horrible!!

Current specs:
- Pentium II (MMX)
- Diamond 3Dfx Graphics Card
- I think, 256MB RAM
- ~3-4GB space

What should I do? Please help!

I'm new to working with the hardware, I'm more a software/computer programming person.

Can you go a bit more in-depth?

Originally posted by Cyber
I'm new to working with the hardware, I'm more a software/computer programming person.

Can you go a bit more in-depth?
I'm also new to working with hardware...

buy a new hard drive and change your processor to some kick --- processor like AMD athlon.

If i were you, I would buy(or assemble) a new computer,but if you still want to go with the upgrade then check out here Motherboards and processors , they offer good prices for combos of motherboards and processors.
For the Hard Drive check out CNET .
You didn't mention which kind of memory you have, but in case you will be upgarding to P4 or Athlon XP I "think" that you should get new modules because they support either SDRAM or RDRAM(correct me).
Finally you can find very helpful articles about hardware upgrades here:
http://pcmech.pair.com/

Case
Power Supply (often comes with case)
Motherboard
Processor
Hard Drive
RAM
CD/DVD, CDRW or whatever
Floppy Drive
Ethernet Card (NIC)
Graphics Card
Sound Card

When I built my first computer a couple years ago I had no idea how to assemble it all or what I needed. What I found was helpful was to get comments from other people.

My preferences:
- Abit or Asus motherboard
- AMD Athlon processor
- Crucial RAM
- any decent case with a PW supply >= 300watts approved for whatever processor you're buying
- Quantum/Maxtor hard drive