• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

finally...

CareBear

NLC
NLC
My Microsoft software subscription finally came through.. I kept being sceptical of it until the last minute but it's all there... WinXP Pro, OfficeXP Pro, Encarta 2003 (not that I have much use for that) and Visual Studio .NET 2002 all in downloadable iso format :)

People can say what they like about "M$" but offering all that to students at $50 is a very nice gesture :)

$50!!!!! Where do you get it? I am a student too. BTW, your PM box is full.

Last edited:
lol I was busy clearing them while you posted your second reply.. it doesn't make me see the reply any sooner :p

The 'project' is called "OOPS!" here, it's part of MSDNAA.. it was started this year as a way for college and uni students to get cheap (and legal) access to Microsoft software.
The catch is that you don't get a normal license.. the software is free, you just pay for the download cost (that's what the $50 is for) but you just have a "right of use".
For example you can make your homework in Office but you're - technically - not allowed to use it for a resume since that's not a commercial and not educational purpose. Another advantage however is that you can install it on multiple computers without having to pay again (the one at home, the one at your dorm and possible your laptop).

I don't know if it exists in any other country though sorry :(.. you'll have to check with the university/college you're attending if a similar program exists there.