• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

FDC Servers

i am wondering about hackers. Does the server come preinstalled with a firewall of some sort to stop hackers. I am new to the server biz, but not to computers, and i can work my way around.

Red Hat 7.1 comes with IP Chains installed, you'll just need to configure it.

Red Hat 7.2/3 comes with IP Tables installed, you'll just need to configure it.

As long as you take your time and follow directly step by step, you aren't likely to lock yourself out. If you're going with Red Hat 7.1 there is a nifty program called PMFirewall which will setup and help you configure IP chains, just make sure you leave the correct ports open.

If you're going with Red Hat 7.2/7.3 you can grab Bastille Linux, both will definatly tighten security up on your server in a hurry.

With a little patience and self confidence you'll do fine. ;)

Is there anyone that is willing to teach me this stuff online, through aim or something? I really don't want to get a managed server, since it is so much more expensive and i would like to learn this stuff for future servers. If I pay someone to do this for me, i won't learn anything and have to pay everytime.

For bastile linux, It says i need to install perl-Curses or perl-Tk first, then Bastille RPM. It gives a command for installing, but i am wondering how simple it is. Is fdc going to give me a ftp address or something and i upload the rpm file into where? Where i am supposed to enter the install command? Please don't respond with sarcasm and say that i should go with a managed server, i don't like people who do that. I want to learn this stuff and i am asking directions or a place where i can learn it fast. Thanks...