• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

~Career Guidance~

megacool

Need Advice Please

I want to be a web professional developer. I have been making fine sites since 2 years but have came a long way since. My current skills are HTML(50%),DESIGNING(60%), GRAPHICS(70%), CGI/PHP(10%..Can install/customize almost any script), SQL & other DBs (0%), ASP(0%). I want to know Do i need to know core C and C++ programming to properly learn PHP/ASP .. and what about PERL i think it doesn't have much of a future? correct me if am wrong. What should be my next move in learning/improving. Thanks for your time! I will gladly appreciate any sound advice from you guys :) oh ya and btw, im 17 and 12th grade student and have always learnt almost all of the things on my own.

[Edited by megacool on 12-19-2000 at 01:39 PM]

Heres my 5,00000000 cents.

Well, what exaclty are you going to do. Any big project is usualy done in a team. I have to say it becuase I disagree with this quit a bit, but you might want to start specializing in an area. Becuase you wont be doing everything. Unless you becuase the manager ect. Then you should have atleast 50% knoledge on everything. And for C and C++ and so one, it really depends again, are you doing the designing or are you going to make the scripts your self, are you going to me making sites that need such large programs? Or will stuff like php work. just some things to think about.